Assessment Summary

Victim Index (VI)

The Victim Index (VI) is used in victim assessment. Clients include victims of physical and mental abuse. It is also appropriate for victims of sexual abuse and domestic violence.

The Victim Index is empirically validated, statistically sound and exceeds reliability, validity, and accuracy standards.

The Victim Index (VI) has 147 items, takes 30 minutes to complete and has eight scales (measures):

  1. Truthfulness Scale
  2. Distress Scale
  3. Morale Scale
  4. Self-Esteem Scale
  5. Suicide Ideation Scale
  6. Resistance Scale
  7. Substance Abuse Scale
  8. Stress Coping Abilities Scale

The Victim Index is often used in domestic violence cases where the victim has suffered emotional, physical and mental abuse. The Victim Index provides an objective and standardized way to assess the client status. To understand this test carefully, review its eight scales (measures).

For more information visit: (this website will open in a new window)

For more information, visit