Assessment Summary

Gambler Index (GI)

The Gambler Addiction Index (GAI) is a gambler (adult male and female) assessment test that assesses important gambler attitudes and behaviors. The GAI is an objective self-report test that has a Truthfulness Scale to identify denial, problem minimization and attempts to "fake good." The GAI is a statistically sound and an empirically validated test which meets and exceeds the professionally accepted standards for reliability, validity and accuracy.

The GAI has 166 items, takes 35 minutes to complete and has seven measures (scales):

  1. Truthfulness Scale
  2. Gambler Severity Scale
  3. Suicide Scale
  4. DSM-IV Gambling Scale
  5. Alcohol Scale
  6. Drugs Scale
  7. Stress Coping Abilities Scale

For thorough gambler understanding, the GAI assesses important gambler attitudes and behaviors. Gamblers have a higher suicide rate than most other clinical groups. And the Truthfulness Scale is particularly helpful when evaluating gamblers because gamblers are often notorious liars. The DSM-IV Gambling Scale reflects DSM-IV gambler classification, whereas the Gambler Severity Scale measures the severity of gambling problems. Stress management is another important area of inquiry when assessing gamblers.

For more information visit: (this website will open in a new window)

For more information, visit