Assessment Summary

Driver Risk Inventory - 2 (DRI-2)

The Driver Risk Inventory - 2 or DRI-2 test is designed specifically for DUI/DWI offender assessment.

The DRI was rated "The Best" by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), which is the highest federal authority in the DUI/DWI field. This test has been standardized on over one million DUI/DWI offenders and incorporates DSM-5 classification criteria along with independent measures of alcohol and drug use (or abuse) severity.

The DRI-2 has 113 items, takes 30 minutes to complete and has six measures (scales):

  1. Truthfulness Scale
  2. Alcohol Scale
  3. Drug Scale
  4. Substance Use Disorder Scale
  5. Driver Risk Scale
  6. Stress Coping Abilities Scale

The DRI-2 is one of the very few, if not the only, DUI/DWI offender test that incorporates both the Driver Risk Scale along with DSM-5 Substance Use Disorder criteria. The Alcohol Scale and Drug Scale measure the severity of substance (alcohol & drugs) abuse.

For more information visit: (this website will open in a new window)

For more information, visit